Robinson named semi-finalist for 2022 Walter Camp Award

NEW HAVEN, Connecticut— Texas Junior runs back Bijan Robinson was named a semifinalist for the Walter Camp Award, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced on Wednesday. Robinson is the first longhorn to be named a semifinalist since D’Onta Foreman in 2016.

Texas has had three Walter Camp Player of the Year awards. Ricky Williams was the first in 1998 and Colt McCoy became only the third two-time winner in 2008 and 2009.

Robinson, a native of Tucson, Arizona, has rushed for 1,158 yards and 12 touchdowns in 10 games this season. He is the only FBS player with more than 1,000 rushing yards and 300 receiving yards (314), and his 1,472 tandem yards (rushing + receiving) is the second most in the nation. He is seventh nationally in all-purpose yards (147.2 YPG), ninth in total touchdowns (14), and 10th in rushing yards, while he ranks 11th in rushing yards per game (115.8) and 16th in rushing touchdowns. space occupied.

He had a seven-game stretch starting against UTSA in which he rushed for 1,001 yards on 161 carries (6.2 YPC) with 10 rushing touchdowns while also making 13 passes for 201 yards (15.5 YPC) with one Touchdown caught up. He surpassed 100-yard rushing in all seven games, the third-longest streak in UT history, including a 209-yard attempt at Kansas State and a 183-yard trip with three touchdowns against UTSA.

His 1,158 rushing yards is a career high and marks his second straight 1,000-yard season. He was the first longhorn to surpass 1,000 rushing yards in a straight season since Vince Young in 2004-05 and the first UT running back since Cedric Benson in 2003-04. He was the only Longhorns with consecutive 1,000-yard rushing campaigns, along with Young, Benson, Chris Gilbert, Roosevelt Leaks, Ricky Williams, and Hodges Mitchell.

In his career, Robinson has rushed for 2,988 yards, the seventh-most in program history, and 28 touchdowns, the 11th-highest for a longhorn. He ranks 10th in UT history with 35 total touchdowns scored, and his eight scores received are the all-time highest for a Texas running back. His 805 career receiving yards is the third-highest total for a Texas running back, while his 3,793 tandem yards (2,988 rushing, 805 receiving) is the seventh-highest total, 74 yards behind Longhorn great Jamaal Charles. He has streaked 100 yards 16 times, the fourth-most in UT history.

The 22-player watch list includes nine quarterbacks, five running backs, four wide receivers/tight ends, and three defensive players. Sixteen different schools and seven conferences (including independent ones) are represented on the list.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is chosen by the 131 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

A list of the five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, November 30th and the winner will be announced on Thursday, December 8th on the ESPN College Football Awards show.

2022 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List – Semifinalists
Israel Abanikanda, Pittsburgh, RB
Will Anderson Jr., Alabama, LB
Stetson Bennett IV, Georgia, QB
Brock Bowers, Georgia, TE
Chase Brown, Illinois, RB
Zach Charbonnet, UCLA, RB
Blake Corum, Michigan, RB
Jayden Daniels, LSU, QB
Max Duggan, TCU, QB
Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State, WR
Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, QB
Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee, WR
Drake Maye, North Carolina, QB
Michael Mayer, Notre-Dame, TE
Bo Nix, Oregon, QB
Michael Penix Jr., Washington, QB
Bijan RobinsonTexas, RB
Noah Sewell, Oregon, LB
CJ Stroud, Ohio State, QB
Tuli Tuipulotu, USC, DL
Caleb Williams, USC, QB
Bryce Young, Alabama, QB