Meet the Freshman Class of Texas 88th Legislative Session

Now that the November election is over and in the past, we must focus on Texas’ future, which will be determined during the 88th legislative session scheduled to begin January 10th.

State legislators have introduced over 900 bills focusing on a range of issues including: property taxes, border security, access to guns, abortion, health care, education and gender issues.

Far more bills are sure to be drafted by the March 10 filing deadline, and lawmakers intend to address the issues in next year’s 140-day session.

Meet the freshman class

The Texas legislature is a bicameral body composed of a 31-member Senate and a 150-member House of Representatives. Let’s take a look at the newcomers who secured their seats by winning the general election on November 8, 2022 – they will take office on January 10, 2023.

Texas House of Representatives:

  • Angelia Orr (R-Hillsboro) is representing District 13. She is replacing retired Rep. Ben Leman (R-Anderson).
  • Stan Gerdes (R-Waco) is representing District 17. He is replacing retired Rep. John Cyrier (R-Lockhart).
  • Ellen Troxclair (R-Austin) is representing District 19. She replaces Rep. James White (R-Hillister) after he resigned to run for commissioner of agriculture and lost the Republican primary.
  • Christian Hayes (Democratic Party) is representing District 22. He is replacing outgoing Stateman Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont).
  • Terri Leo-Wilson (Republican Party) represents District 23. She replaces Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville), Chair of the State Rep. and House Freedom Caucus, who was elected to District 11 of the State Senate.
  • Janie Lopez (Republican Party) represents District 37. She replaces Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville), who ran for Senate District 27 and lost the Democratic primary.
  • Maria Luisa “Lulu” Flores (Democratic Party) represents District 51. She replaces Eddie Rodriguez, who ran for Congressional District 35 in the Democratic primary and lost.
  • Caroline Harris (Republican Party) represents District 52. She replaces James Talarico (D-Round Rock), who moved to Austin and won the House District 50 election after another state representative, Celia Israel (D-Austin), ran for mayor of the city of Austin and reached the runoff.
  • Richard Hayes (Republican Party) represents District 57. He replaced Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) after being moved to District 9 and winning in the November 8, 2022 general election.
  • Frederick Frazier (Republican Party) represents District 61. He replaces Rep. Phil King (R-Pleasanton), who resigned to run for Seante District 10 and won the November 8, 2022 general election.
  • Ben Bumgarner (Republican Party) represents District 63. He replaces Rep. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) after he resigned to run for Senate District 12 and won the November 8, 2022 general election.
  • Kronda Thimesch (Republican Party) represents District 65. She replaces State Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), who is running for Lt. ran for governor and lost in the Democratic primary.
  • Mihaela Plesa (Democratic Party) is representing District 70. She is replacing State Rep. Scott Sanford (R-McKinney), who resigned during the general election.
  • Carrie Isaac (Republican Party) represents District 73. She replaces retiring State Representative Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg), notorious for standing on the steps of the Capitol during the January 6 riot and the secession from Texas claimed by the United States of America.
  • Suleman Lalani (Democratic Party) represents District 76. This is a new district that was moved from El Paso to Fort Bend County. It was previously held by State Rep. Claudia Ordaz Perez (D-El Paso), who was pulled out of the district during the redistriction and moved to House District 79 and defeated incumbent State Rep. Art Fierro (D-El Paso) in the Democratic primary and won the general election.
  • Carl Tepper (Republican Party) represents District 84. He replaces outgoing State Representative John Frullo (R-Lubbock).
  • Stan Kitzman (Republican Party) representing District 85. Defeated incumbent Representative Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton) in the Republican primary.
  • Salman Bhojani (Democrat Party) is representing District 92. He is replacing retiring MP Jeff Cason (R-Bedford).
  • Nate Schatzline (Republican Party) is representing District 93. He is replacing Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth) after he resigned to run for AG/Tarrant Co. DA and in the May 24, 2022 Republican runoff has lost.
  • Venton Jones (Democratic Party), representing District 100. He replaces Rep. Jasmine Crockett (D-Dallas), who resigned to run for congressional district 30 and won the November 8, 2022 general election.
  • John W. Bryant (Democratic Party) is representing District 114. He is replacing retiring Rep. John Turner (D-Dallas).
  • Mark Dorazio (Republican Party) is representing District 122. He is replacing retiring Rep. Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio).
  • Josey Garcia (D-San Antonio) is representing District 124. He is replacing Rep. Ina Minjarez (R-San Antonio) after she resigned to run for Bexar County Judge and on May 24, 2022 in the Democratic primary lost the runoff.
  • Charles Cunningham (R-Humble) represents District 127. He replaces retiring MP and former Chair of the House Public Education Committee Dan Huberty (R-Houston).
  • Mano De Ayala (Republican Party) is representing District 133. He is replacing retiring Representative and former House GOP Group Chairman Jim Murphy (R-Houston).
  • Jolanda Jones (Democratic Party) represents District 147. She replaces Rep. and House County Affairs Chair Garnet Coleman (D-Houston), who resigned due to ill health.

previous articlePay rises alone won’t solve staff shortages at Texas’ ‘nightmare’ juvenile detention centers, ex-workers say
next articleTexas judge bans League of Women Voting from registering new citizens to vote